LASA 2014 Sexualities Studies Section Report

Now that my tenure as Co-Chair of the LASA Sexualities section has come to close, here is our annual report that will be coming out in the next LASA Bulletin.


By Joseph M. Pierce and Guillermo de los Reyes, Co-Chairs

The Sexualities Section business meeting took place on Thursday, May 22, and was attended by 18 people. We held elections, confirming the new co-chairs of the section, Laura Arnés and Maja Horn, as well as the secretary/treasurer, Yolanda Martínez-San Miguel. During the meeting we announced the winners of the Carlos Monsiváis Award (social sciences) and Sylvia Molloy Award (humanities), discussed future topics for sponsored section panels, and revisited the possibility of holding a pre-conference for LASA 2015.

This year we sponsored two section panels, one of which explored new perspectives in the study of sexualities in Latin America, while the other was organized in collaboration with the Southern Cone section and focused specifically on narratives of love, sex, and gender in the region. Both were well attended and we are looking forward to exploring new possibilities for collaboration with other sections in the future.

The 2013-2014 Carlos Monsiváis Award for best peer-reviewed article in the social sciences was awarded to James Green for his article, “‘Who is the Macho Who Wants to Kill Me?’ Male Homosexuality, Revolutionary Masculinity, and the Brazilian Armed Struggle of the 1960s and 1970s”. Abel Sierra Madero was awarded honorable mention for his article, “Cuerpos en Venta: Pinguerismo y Masculinidad Negociada en la Cuba contemporánea”.

Likewise, the 2013-2014 Sylvia Molloy Award for best peer-reviewed article in the humanities was awarded to Carlos Riobó for his article, “Raiding the ‘Anales’ of the Empire: Sarduy’s Subversions of the Latin American Boom,” with honorable mention for Matthew J. Edwards, “How to Read Copi: A Historiography of the Margins”.

We would like to thank the Monsiváis committee members, Horacio Sívori and Jordi Díez as well as the Molloy committee members, Dara Goldman and Lawrence LaFountain-Stokes for their work this year reviewing articles for the quality of their research, analysis, and writing, as well as on their contribution to the field of sexualities in Latin American and Latino social, cultural, and intellectual contexts.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s